The world spins, he spins, the world spins…..

We take a girls vacation each year. By girls I mean, my daughter, mother, MIL, best friend, and for the past 4 years…Bob. Bob is the only man invited. I have to bring my fella.

Every year I’ve taken Bob on this trip..I always say next year will be easier. I really thought this year would be the one. Day 1 went great. He listened..no melt downs..good times…Day 2… A few minor meltdowns….day 3… Holy shit..Houston we have a problem…

The world spins….

The morning started off with Bob, my mom, and MIL going to the beach.
Easy enough…not!
He immediately went into stimulation overload…wouldn’t listen..wanted to run into the water… The whole incident ended with my MIL holding him down while my mother got the golf cart…he’s to big and strong to force to do anything he doesn’t want to do…

He spins…

They got him back to the house..it took me 15 minutes to get him upstairs to wash off the shells and salt of the ocean…..when I did get him upstairs…after he threatened to run away…it took another 45 minutes to get him in the tub…it was the hardest meltdown I’ve seen as of yet….I help my child my boy…I shushed him..I kissed him..I prayed for him to let go and just do what I needed him to do……he never conceded…I just lifted him into the water and bathed my baby..my boy..my love…

The world spins, he spins….

I knew the beach would not be in our plans again today…I couldn’t do it…he couldn’t do it..so we ventured out…to the big town of Charleston..respite away from the beach…they have a children’s museum…he can play with kids…he can be active in a safe place…so we are off….

The world spins…..

On the car ride there..he is happy..calm..he needs his sunglasses and music…I oblige….a few minutes into the ride he says…Mommy….
I say yes….he says ….I love you… Yeah, the world stops spinning that quickly..all is good…

We get to the museum….there are other kids..he plays appropriately….with an 8 year old and two other 3 year olds…..castles and dress up..water tables and a pirate ship…outside water play and a full size fire engine…so much adventure for children…while the other parents sat and watched. My mother and I interacted with all of them…we do this to facilitate appropriate play….and hour into to this..we had a Bantu of children following Bob..to play interactively….once a teacher always a teacher…

The world spins….

The last thirty minutes..Bob was tired….he did so well all day..but he started to spin…stimming….we don’t have that often..but today we did…

The world spins…he spins…

We left…he held my hand…he looked at me and said….I missed you mommy….I was there the whole time..but he was lost in the play…..he also said…I love you mommy……

I love you more Bob….I always have..I always will…

Lori
Bob’s mommy

20140422-203640.jpg

3 thoughts on “The world spins, he spins, the world spins…..

Leave a Reply

