A simple act of kindness….. It doesn’t cost a thing….

We preach to our children be nice to others. Don’t call names…be kind..be a friend….. But how many of us actually practice what we preach with our children? I know I have fallen short way to often.

The thought of being kind to others has been on my mind lately. It’s not there because of personal issues but with a recent visit to the fair. Yes, I learned something from the county fair.

Every Saturday we go to lunch and do some form of an outing with Bob. God bless him for 8 hours a day his life…is governed by school and therapists and basically practicing life skills. So, on the weekend we like to relax and cut loose a little. We try to drag him out of his comfort zone, which is our home and bring him into the “real world”.

Any given Saturday there is a zoo trip, he doesn’t like animals but he likes the train at the zoo. Or we take him to the park, which he truly adores..for various reasons..there are kids…there are swings….it’s fun! This Saturday we made the trek to the County fair…I’m sure you know the type..basic Ferris wheel, kiddie rides, games where you can win a fish or a stuffed animal….french fries and hot dogs and elephant ears oh my!

I can’t lie. I was nervous. I didn’t know how it would go. I asked my FB family for prayers, good thoughts, or even good juju. I was reaching.

We arrive at the fair. Bob sees letter..words..that’s excites him. What does that say mommy, he asks? I oblige and answer holding his hand a little tighter as the music and the smells and the people seem to barrel towards us. The funny thing is, you never probably even think of all of these things until your life is touched with Autism. Our senses are accosted daily and the fair..well let’s just say, that’s a whole lot to take in…especially when you are little and autistic.

We get to the ticket booth and the hubs proceeds to buy the tickets. He looks at me and asks how many should I get? I don’t know….depends on if he can handle this or not. Oh, what the hell get 50 tickets…this could work!
Bob gripped my hand tightly and said, I wanna go home…I’m scared….
I told him we would walk a little further and if he wanted to go home we would……

We didn’t have to leave. He loved it! He rode the roller coaster not one time but three times. We rode the tilt a whirl. I thought I was going to vomit. He smiled the entire time. He even tried his hand at throwing ping pong balls into bowls to win a fish. He won not ONE but TWO fish. He also rode a train ride. The hubs informed the attendant that Bob was Autistic. She treated him with such dignity and kindness. Guess what, it didn’t even cost us an extra ticket for this woman to be kind to my child.

We moved on to a motorcycle ride. Even though it is October and technically Fall, it is still hot as hades in SC. Evidently the South didn’t get the memo! While we were standing and waiting our turn, the attendant proceeds to complain about the heat. I really tuned her out. My only concern was that Bob got on and off the ride safely. As Bob mounted the cycle, the attendant helped him and then she did the strangest thing. I felt like I was looking at something that wasn’t a reality…but it was. She proceeded to roll up my child’s sleeves. Evidently, because she was hot she assumed Bob was as well. I watched this woman. I watched this person proceed to do and act of kindness, without thought of herself …..just seamlessly giving some relief to a child. That one act…..that simple thing she did..meant the world to me….
The fumbling of her fingers a she rolled his sleeves up….the kindness she bestowed upon my child…didn’t cost either of us a thing…it was what it was….an act of kindness…..just a simple act of kindness….

I leave you with this…try to do a simple act of kindness…I know I am going to make a valiant effort…. Because you know……you never know when the one thing you do…that one act…will impact another persons journey…

Hugs and love,
Bob and Sissy’s momma

IMG_5497.JPG

One thought on “A simple act of kindness….. It doesn’t cost a thing….

  1. That is awesome! we should all think about treating others better…. Like you said,You never know when that one act of kindness makes a difference in someone’s life. Bob, YOU ARE AWESOME!

Leave a Reply

