To the little boy in the waiting room…..you didn’t have to be there…I’m glad you were

I’ve written about this before…the dregs of the waiting room.  So many of us sit in a waiting room. Somewhere in the world…at any given day….to get our kiddos the therapy they need to live a better life….to equip them….to prepare them..

Every Thursday I sit in a waiting room ….the routine of it used to bother me…now it’s my safe place.  The same parents..the same kids…the same therapist…it begs a sense of normalcy….that’s rare..right?

This Thursday we were early..and there was a new family…. A mother a father (which is rare) and three children, a sweet 16 month old, and her two brothers…a three year old there for speech and his seven year old brother…not there for therapy…..

They are all in the waiting room play room…..Bob jumps in the middle of them…the older boy says let’s build a tunnel using these blocks….Bob says..I can’t do that..I’ll watch….the boy says no..you’ll help ….come on….

I watch my boy..what’s his next move..will he do it.lor sit there….

Bob says…I’ll watch…

The boy says no…you help…

It’s a stand off….for all of two seconds…..

My boy says…ok…and he starts helping…….

And so it begins…..social interaction….stepping out of a comfort zone…..

I’m so proud ..I believe my bra may pop…just saying,,,,

Xoxo

Lori 



Leave a Reply

